Highlights from the May meeting
     Your Session met in the annex on Wednesday evening, May 16. Devotions were presented by elder Bonnie Dawson, and the minutes from the April meeting were amended and approved.
     History Committee: Clerk of session and committee member Denise Pitchford read a letter to the Session in which three members of the commission – Denise Pitchford, Carol McDaniel and Janet Koehler -- all announced their resignations. Rev. Shedwick said he had someone in mind whom he thought would step in and continue the commission’s work. The grant for which the commission applied in April is still pending.
     Pastor's report: Rev. Shedwick distributed more information on Presbyterian polity (government) to the elders. His vacation request for June 28 to 30 and July 27 to Aug. 6, which includes Sundays July 29 and Aug. 5, was approved. The study leave he planned to attend in May was canceled, and no payment was made. In April, the pastor drove 296 miles on church business, which included 14 home visits, four hospital visits, one counseling session, and three funerals. The ushers for June are: Jake Mangano (June 3), Jeanne Mangano (June 10), Denise Pitchford (June 17) and John Pitchford (June 24).
     Mission Committee: A meeting to discuss the particulars of this fall’s CROP walk was set for May 31. … Cindy Corell, the missionary we support, is supposed to return from Haiti this fall. The committee hopes she will visit our church on Mission Sunday and update us on what she’s doing.
     Building and Property: Our new sextons, Jim and Debbie Gould, started their jobs May 1, and church members have commented on the great work they’re doing. … Carli Bernato has contracted to use the lounge and Sunday School area of our church for five weeks to give music lessons to young children on Monday evenings, starting July 16. … Cooper Hall is being rented out for $300 for a private graduation party on Saturday, June 16. … Session has agreed to entertain bids from landscapers for work on the gardens by the sanctuary doors, in front of the brick wall where the sign board is and for Memorial Garden. The work would include cutting in and lining the gardens as well as recommending new shrubs, trees and flowers as well as possibly upgrading the front lawn.
     Christian Education: The Sunday School closed with “A Minute to Win It” game day on Sunday, May 20. The children played a series of games in the nursery and Sunday School areas. … Children who participate in the Children’s Message each Sunday presented church member Janet Koehler with a thank-you card for the many things she has given them.
     Stewardship and Finance: The commission has interviewed 11 church members as potential replacements for outgoing current-expense treasurer Steve Elliott without success. Interested people should contact Ollie Lambert, Jesse Butler or Nick Zorio Jr. … The utility bills for the sanctuary, annex and manse were nearly $10,000 over the budgeted amount for January through April. An audit has been done to find out why, and our fuel-oil costs and electrical usage at the manse will come under further study by Buildings and Grounds. … Church members can now donate to our church when they are out of town by clicking buttons on the cover page of the website and Facebook page. … The church is breaking even on its finances, in relation to the budgeted amount, through May.
     Worship and Program: A committee continues to look for a replacement for Music Director Quint Lerch, who retired at the end of May. It’s possible those duties may be divided among two or more people. … Brad Gilmore will fill in for the vacationing Rev. Shedwick on Sunday, July 29. … Nancy Butler will direct a three-part discussion this summer on race relations. The dates are June 13, July 19 and Aug. 21.
     Communication and Outreach: With help from elder Arin Sheehan, the commission facilitated church communication by implementing Remind 101, which allows Rev. Shedwick to reach multiple people simultaneously with important church announcements and reminders. Remind 101 is already in use, and those who haven’t signed up should plan to do so. … With a big assist from our deacons and our Youth Group, the commission has conducted a new talent survey and is working at compiling results, which will be distributed to the pastor, elders and deacons. Approximately 60 people filled out surveys.
     Membership and Fellowship: Bring A Friend Sundays, after which refreshments are to be served, have been set for July 15 (elders to bring food) and Aug. 12 (deacons to bring food).
     Deacons: Approximately a dozen people attended the annual Sunshine Luncheon on May 2, which made it a success. … Our graduates will be honored during a pot-luck luncheon after worship on June 10.
     New business: The Session and deacons held a joint meeting after worship on May 20 to discuss areas of concern brought to light by the every member visitation report. … Possible solutions were taken under advisement. … The church is working the Division of Youth and Family Services on a July program focusing on child abuse. DYFS will set up the event in our parking lot. The particulars are being worked out.

"For just as the body is one and has many members, and all the members of the body, though many, are one body, so it is with Christ."

-- 1 Corinthians 12:12